Shelter

Relationship: Im/migrant
Group:
Shelter

My name in Joyce. I am from the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) in Africa. I left the DRC, and sadly my six year old daughter who is now living with my mother, in Africa a few years ago. In 2016 I started living in the United States on my own. There was lots of violence in the DRC when I left. The people and government were fighting over the president being in office for too many terms. In the DRC we speak French so I didn’t know any English when I first got here which was hard, but after living in the U. S. for a little while I started taking English lessons. In the United States I live in the Elizabeth Freeman Shelter. Although it's not my most favourite place in the world it is a very special place to me because they gave me a place to sleep when I first got to the U. S. and have helped me with some of the problems I’ve had. They helped me get a lawyer so I could get my legal papers and are trying to help me get a job. We are currently working on getting me a working permit which has been a long and challenging process. I am so happy about this as I feel like with each step I take I’m working on improving my life. There are lots of people who are all unique and come from different backgrounds and places who are all very kind. I am very grateful for the shelter and all they have done for me but I'm looking forward to moving on and starting a normal lifestyle. I will always remember my time at the shelter and it will stay close to my heart.

Place(s): Berkshires, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Year: 2016

– Joyce

Relationship:  Im/migrant Im/migrant