Mi Madre

Relationship: Child of im/migrant

My mother was born in Mexico to a low-income family in 1971. A child of 6, she spent most of her childhood working alongside her siblings in order to sustain her family. At the age of 15, my mother moved out with her eldest sister. There, she attained responsibilities beyond expected of a person of her age. When her sister conceived, my mother was forced to take care of her nephew. When my aunt was working, my mother took on the role of a parent and provided care and love for my cousin despite her low financial status. Years later, my uncle asked her if she wanted to go to the United States. Growing up, my mother heard many stories originating from the US. “It was the land of opportunities.” My mother faced an ultimatum. In the end, she made the decision to immigrate. Throughout her journey, she faced extreme dehydration and exhaustion from having to walk endless miles. She was ready to give up, but she didn't. The only thing motivating her was the new life she could create and the possibility of establishing a stable family. Life was very hard for her during the first few months of her arrival. She took on the role of a house keeper. From this experience, she learned how to clean. Although the pay was low, she had no other choice. It was during this era where she met my father, who had a very similar life as my mother. Unlike her predecessors, she established a small family. In the present day, my mother continues to work nonstop in order to provide resources for her family.

Place(s): New York

– Kevin Perez

Relationship:  Child of im/migrant Child of im/migrant