Gold Watch

In Attire
Relationship: unknown
Group:
Gold Watch
Gold Watch

My mom’s side of the family has been in the UK for as long as I can remember. They were one hundred percent English. They became coal miners along with my great-grandfather. My grandfather was mining and he got stuck and the whole top of the mine collapsed but he miraculously survived. He still has the scars from the incident. My mom was born in the UK and grew up in a little English town called Nottingham. She went to college there as well. My grandparents still live there to this day. In 1997, my mom moved to Salt Lake City leaving everything behind her, and that’s where she met my father. They got married in 2001 and had my sister two years later and they had me 5 years later. I used to live in New York City but I moved to Rye in 2017. My father’s side of the family is Italian and very Catholic. My dad grew up in Detroit and he went to the University of Michigan. His parents were born in Italy and they got married and immigrated over to the states. He moved to Salt Lake City and he met my mom there and got married in Chicago in 2001. They moved to New York City right after. To my parents' wedding, my great-grandfather wore a gold watch that he bought from Fendi not too long before. He wore that and that is so special to me as it reminds me of my parents and great-grandfather. I will continue to spread the tradition as an heirloom to my children. I feel my great-grandfather is with me as I wear the watch and he will be with my children as they wear it.

Place(s): England, New York City

– JCF

Relationship:  unknown unknown