Family Photos

Relationship: Im/migrant
My parents on their wedding day
My parents on their wedding day

Hi, my name is Dakota Henrique. I was born to parents Danielle and Donald Henrique. My father is primarily Portuguese and my mother is primarily German. Unfortunately not much is known about my family's background. To my knowledge, my great-grandfather immigrated to the US from Portugal. My mother's origin is unknown to me. Since I don't have much access to past family history I will instead focus on my migration story. I was born in Sunrise, Florida. We lived there briefly before moving to Tamarac, Florida. When I was about 3 years old my family had to move to Massachusetts due to my father's job. My father was content living in Massachusetts again as he had grown up in Fall River. However, the change was more challenging for my mother as she had grown up in Pennsylvania and Florida for her entire life. For a few years, my mother and I made frequent trips back to Florida to spend time with family. I was my parent's first and only child for 8 years until my younger brother was born in April of 2012. After he was born my family no longer had much of an opportunity to travel back to Florida. Because of this, I had to say goodbye to most of my family that resided there for 10 years. It wasn't until 2022 that I was finally able to return to Florida and reunite with my extended family again. 

Place(s): Florida, Massachusetts
Year: 2007

– DH

Relationship:  Im/migrant Im/migrant