Adidas Shirt

In Attire

I was born in Milan, Italy and I had a pretty good childhood, I had a happy family and years passed quickly until at the age of six my dad lost his job in Italy, so because my grandma was already living here in the United States he decided to move here and try to find a new job. It was a heartbreaking change in my life, it was really hard for me especially at the age of six to understand why my dad couldn't be there at every Christmas holiday, my birthdays. And growing up, after what happened my uncle was always there, he was the one that stood up as my second dad, as my second superhero.

Then I reached the age of 13 and my parents decided that me and my mom will move here in Brooklyn, to have finally a complete family. So, last August 2016 I moved here in Brooklyn and another big chapter of my life opened. A year passed, and all through this time I didn't hear anything from my uncle and that was because he was going through so much depression. We didn't know anything, and only a few months ago we discovered that he was diagnosed with stage four colon cancer. So, when the doctor said that he only had 3 to 6 months left we sent him back to the Philippines. And I was lucky that I had at least one month to take care of him. This shirt is not just a shirt for me, every time I look at it, it reminds of all of my 13 years spent with him. It's like a book with 13 chapters full of ups and downs, full of drama and happiness. But after all, I know that he's in a better place now.

Relationship:  Grandchild of im/migrant Grandchild of im/migrant