Leydi Lora


Before my mother moved to the United States, she was a waitress at a carwash/restaurant called  "Dominican Glass”. Back home it was easier for her to be part of my childhood because she was very close to the house and she didn't have to work long shifts because the place was mostly for people who wanted to get their car fixed. She enjoyed her job because she told me she got to meet a lot of famous people. She would bring me all the time and I would actually eat for free because it was like a family there. One day, my mom saw a better chance to make more money and give me a better education in the USA so she moved here. She got married and was able to legalize in the country and then she put a petition for me and brought me was I was 10 years old. However, the situation changed, I was barely seeing my mom because she was working long hours and her husband was not making a "family wage" like we have discussed in class before; in fact, I was forced to find myself a job also when I turned 15. We all had to work to contribute to the house. We are a family that is an example of chain migration because my mother brought me to the states, but she also had more of my family members come like my siblings, niece and nephews. Although our experience has been a little hard because we had to adapt to a different environment, we never forget where we come from, as immigrants, we are very proud of the work we have put into becoming productive members of society. 

Place(s): New York City
Year: 2008

– Leydi Lora

Relationship:  Im/migrant who arrived as a child Im/migrant who arrived as a child