The Strength of the Household

Relationship: Child of im/migrant
My mom and dad
My mom and dad

My dad, Martin Sepulveda was born on February 24, 1966. He was born and raised in Michoacan, Mexico for eighteen years. He grew up living in a small ranch with his mom, dad, and six siblings. During his childhood for his education, he only had the chance to receive schooling up until first grade. When he was 16 years old his mom passed away. He then began working in the fields with his dad, so he had to grow up fast to keep food on the table. When he was 18 years old he crossed the border to come to the United States to support his family and for better opportunities. He lived with his uncle in Fontana when he came to the United States and while he lived with him he worked in using the forklift carriages and moving pallets of wood. He moved to East Los Angeles with his uncle a few years later where he worked in construction and during that time he attended Adult School where he learned to read and write. Two years later he decided to go work in Wenatchee, Washington for a whole year cutting cherries, apples, and pears. After he came back from Wenatchee to Glendale he started working in construction again and while he was there he met my mom and got married. Then after there was no more work for construction, he decided to move to Oxnard, California and has been working in the fields for about 15 to 20 years. My father got his residency in 1986 and married my mom on June 6, 1992   

Place(s): Michoacán, Mexico, Fontana, East Los Angeles, Wenatchee, Washington, Oxnard
Year: 1984

– Carina Sepulveda

Relationship:  Child of im/migrant Child of im/migrant